Alyssa Thorne
September 19, 2017 1:30 pm
Will Heath/NBC

Introverts, rejoice — Saturday Night Live will air live coast-to-coast, which means you have a super valid excuse to stay home on Saturday night. NBC confirmed that the show will now really be what it says it is, following an experiment last season. The last four episodes of Saturday Night Live aired live across the nation and, not surprisingly, earned strong ratings in all four time zones. The season finale was SNL’s highest rated night in six years.

NBC and SNL bigwigs have hinted that this experiment might become permanent in the future, but now we know for sure.

Interestingly, one of the things that turned the tide for SNL’s timeslot is social media. Now, the problem isn’t just catching up on a show before everybody spoils it for you at the water cooler the next morning — it’s catching up on a show before Twitter tells you what happens.

When asked about the motivation for the change-up, SNL creator Lorne Michaels said:

So now we all get to see Saturday Night Live in real time! The Season 43 premiere airs on September 30th at 11:30 p.m. ET, 10:30 p.m. CT,  9:30 p.m. MT, and  8:30 p.m. PT. Don’t forget it!

Advertisement