Sophia Elias
Updated Mar 25, 2015 @ 12:55 pm

It’s official: Sia is unstoppable.

For the third (yes, third) year in a row, the Australian singer-songwriter extraordinaire was awarded Songwriter of the Year at the APRA Music Awards. Considering the fact that the APRA Music Awards celebrate the achievements of songwriters and music composers in Australia and New Zealand, songwriter of the year was top honors. She, and co-writer Jesse Shatkin, also snagged the Song of the Year award for, “Chandelier.”

True to her media-shy fashion, Sia wasn’t in attendance and instead enlisted the help of Fall Out Boy’s Pete Wentz to accept the award for her. In a pre-recorded acceptance speech, Pete sported Sia’s signature blonde wig and made a few bold statements on her behalf: “I am the [expletive] Michael Jordan of the APRAs. He won three. And then three more. Hopefully I’ll do that too.”

With a career total of six APRAs under her belt, coming close to Sia’s winning streak is near impossible. In fact, the only person who has come close to competing with her record is former Silverchair frontman, Daniel Johns. After jointly winning songwriter of the year in 1995, 1998 and 2000, Johns went on to earn the title alone in both 2003 and 2008. Though undoubtedly impressive, Sia still reigns supreme with her now record-breaking three-peat.

“This is an unprecedented, and very likely, a never-to-be-repeated achievement by one of our most talented songwriters,” said APRA CEO, Brett Cottle. He continued on, noting that “Sia has been an APRA member since 1996 and was a co-winner of the inaugural Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year Award in 2002. Since then she has become one of the most successful and acclaimed songwriters of her era. We’re incredibly proud of her achievements and honoured to represent her.”

We’re proud of you too, Sia! Keep breaking records and making records . . . y’know, the musical kind!

[Image ]