Carly Lane
January 30, 2015 12:30 pm

When it comes to Game of Thrones (and the book series it’s based on), fans are used to mixed blessings. Who could forget the Red Wedding, or any one of the other unexpected losses of some of our most favorite characters? We Game of Thrones are very used to fielding bad news and working through complex GOT fueled emotions. Unfortunately, the latest batch of bad news is book-related.

According to author George RR Martin’s publisher, HarperCollins, there appears to be no release date in sight for the sixth book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series. Fans had been speculating (and hoping) that a December promotion for the books was actually a countdown to book six The Winds of Winter — the hope in fans’ hearts was that it would be released by the end of the year. Alas, no dice.

To put it in perspective, the last book in the series, A Dance With Dragons, was published all the way back in 2011 — and fans have been itching for the next installment. In a post on his personal blog, Martin promised that when the book is released, “there won’t be any clues to decipher, any codes or hidden meanings, the announcement will be straightforward and to the point.” We’re still keeping our fingers crossed for whatever day that will eventually be — because the excerpts that have been released so far have us YEARNING for more.

But fear not! The good news is that the season five trailer for Game of Thrones leaked! The trailer made its debut at a special IMAX screening and a few fans managed to sneakily record the footage in the vein of Lord Varys or Littlefinger.

Brace yourselves: next season looks like it’ll be full of new adventures for some of our favorites, including Arya, Daenerys, Tyrion, and Sansa. Hopefully this pure-bred awesomeness will help alleviate the book pain you’re still getting over (sorry ’bout that).

Also, here’s the trailer.

[Image  ]

You May Like