Olivia Harvey
January 19, 2018 10:15 am
Getty Images / bombuscreative

Instagram’s new status activity update is basically the app’s response to iPhone read receipts. Via Instagram Direct, you are now able to see when your friends and followers were last active on the app. Although Instagram supposedly created this feature to enhance communication between friends, we’re already feeling more anxious about our recent activity being public knowledge.

This is our formal apology to all the friends we’ve ignored in the past 24 to 48 hours.

Luckily, users can disable the new update, thus avoiding ruined friendships and awkward “I know you’ve seen this” messages. All one must do to make their recent activity on Instagram a private matter is head to the app’s settings (aka the little gear icon on your profile).

Once you’re on the settings page, scroll down to “Show Activity Settings” and toggle the feature off. Not only will this make your activity invisible to friends and followers, but it will also make your friends’ statuses unavailable for your viewing.

Author

If you’re the type who hates knowing when they’re being ignored, then toggle that setting off — pronto.

And that’s it. Once you’re toggled off, you can resume your incognito lifestyle. The “Sorry, I wasn’t ignoring you, I just haven’t been on Instagram lately” excuse can be implemented once more.

Author

This Instagram update went into effect on January 17th. So hopefully, we’ve caught it in time to save a few friendships. Because we all know there’s nothing worse than being confronted by a friend who has the receipts.

Toggle off and breathe a sigh of relief.

Advertisement