Jessica Booth
February 08, 2018 6:39 am

With the release of Fifty Shades Freed, the last movie in the infamously sexy trilogy, it’s impossible not to think about the original book that started it all: Fifty Shades of Grey. The book, by author E.L. James was (obviously) a total sensation, and many would argue that nothing else quite compares to the now iconic series.

Erotica has always been a popular genre, but until Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele came along, it wasn’t necessarily something that was widely discussed. However, since Fifty Shades, the genre has expanded immensely. Which is good news if the end of the recent film versions is about to leave a giant Fifty Shades-shaped hole in your heart.

Whether you’re looking for something as sexually charged as Fifty Shades or something a little more on the traditionally romantic side, the below list of books should have you covered. (And while not all of these center around BDSM, some of them do touch on the topic).

You’re welcome in advance.

1The Steele Stories” (Stark International Trilogy) by J. Kenner

J. Kenner is a New York Times bestselling author who has written tons of romance and erotica novels. This trilogy focuses on Jackson Steele and Sylvia Brooks, a couple similar to Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele. Jackson is a man who goes after what he wants, while Sylvia is a woman who’s hard to reach. The stories are about how the two get together five years after an intense affair, and it’s full of passion, revenge, and of course, tons of secrets. You can buy these from Amazon.

2A Million Dirty Secrets” by C.L. Parker

Much like the Fifty Shades series, A Million Dirty Secrets also started out as Twilight fan fiction. It tells the story of Delaine Talbot, who ends up sacrificing herself for her family by auctioning herself off to Noah Crawford, a wealthy mogul. Although the story itself is definitely problematic (Crawford essentially buys her for sex), the two end up falling in love. The reviews promise steamy sex scenes, so if that’s what you’re looking for, you’ve found it here. You can buy this on Amazon.

3Crossfire” by Sylvia Day

Crossfire is a four-part series, so it’s perfect for anyone looking for something that will last a while. It’s about a young woman named Eva, who moves to New York and meets the wealthy Gideon Cross. Gideon struggles with a lot of demons, and Eva is drawn to him in spite of herself.  The book is full of passion and steamy love scenes. You can buy them from Amazon.

4Overruled” by Emma Chase

Overruled is the first book in the three-part Legal Briefs series by Emma Chase, who also wrote the Tangled series. It’s about a defense attorney named Stanton Shaw who’s known for his good looks and charm. He’s still in love with the mother of his daughter, who’s getting married to someone new. Stanton enlists the help of his friend Sofia, also a lawyer (as well as his friend with benefits) to help him win back his ex. The book’s Amazon description says, “What happens when you mix a one-stop-light town, two professional arguers, a homecoming queen, four big brothers, some Jimmy Dean sausage, and a gun-toting Nana?” Honestly, how can you pass that up? You can buy this from Amazon.

5The Breathless Trilogy” by Maya Banks

This is another trilogy you won’t want to miss if you love Fifty Shades. Each book focuses on a different wealthy, handsome man (Gabe, Jace, and Ash), and they feature BDSM, a whole lot of passion, crazy situations, betrayal, and more. It’s an intense series that has readers raving. You can buy this on Amazon.

6The Siren” by Tiffany Reisz

This book is about an author of erotic novels, so if you want to get a little meta, you’ll love it. Nora Sutherlin is the author, and Zachary Easton is her editor. He ends up giving her writing sessions to improve her book, which turn into something a little more… passionate. You can buy this on Amazon.

7The Dark Garden” by Eden Bradley

If you’re looking for more BDSM fiction, you’ll probably enjoy this one. It’s about Rowan Cassidy, a mistress at a BDSM club. She ends up falling for one of her clients, but they’re both dominants — and he wants to be in total control. This one’s a little more on the dark side, but it’s also full of passion and is a little less, shall we say, predictable as compared to many of the other books on this list. You can buy it on Amazon.

8Just One Night” by Kyra Davis

This is another series, but it’s only made up of two books. The story centers around Kasie Fitzgerald, a safe, predictable girl who ends up having a one night stand that changes the course of her life. It’s a bestseller for its passion and intrigue. You can buy this on Amazon.

9The Dom Who Loved Me” (Masters and Mercenaries series) by Lexi Blake

This series is HUGE. There are about 15 volumes! This first one is about Sean Taggart and Grace Hawthorne. He’s searching for a terrorist, and she’s his only lead. The book is full of BDSM sex scenes and lots of fantasies. You can buy this on Amazon.

10“Inside Out” Series by Lisa Renee Jones

There are six books in the Inside Out series, and it’s actually in development for a TV show. It’s the story about a woman named Sara who ends up becoming obsessed with a mysterious woman named Rebecca. Meanwhile, Sara meets an artist named Chris who she starts to fall for. The series is interesting, fun, sexy, and passionate. You can buy it on Amazon.

Happy reading!

You May Like

EDIT POST