Sammy Nickalls
July 05, 2016 10:16 am
Shutterstock

All of us who have gone through nasty breakups over the past year totally appreciated Facebook’s feature that allows you to “take a break” from your ex by hiding their posts. However, another feature doesn’t work quiiiite so well: the “On This Date” feature, which shows you a random post or photograph from years ago on that day. (Yeah, I def don’t wanna be reminded of my first date with that guy who later shattered my heart into a million pieces.) Luckily, there’s a way to stop the platform from dragging up some not-so-fond memories.

Thanks to Digital Spy, we’ve been alerted of a way to change Facebook’s “On This Day” feature so it leaves some of those memories in the past where they belong — while still letting you see the lovely memories you actually *want* to see.

First, go to the “Apps” section on the lefthand side after having logged in. Then, click “On This Day.” From there, you can choose to turn off notifications entirely in the top-right corner.

Facebook / Sammy Nickalls

But if you’d rather edit certain memories rather than get rid of them altogether, you can click “Preferences” (also in the top-right corner) and choose certain dates or people to hide.

Facebook / Sammy Nickalls

It’s actually really easy and you’ll never have to log into Facebook and be greeted with an uncomfortable photo ever again. That drama-filled date with your insecure ex can stay in the past — where it belongs.

Advertisement