Karen Belz
April 29, 2016 5:48 am
Pexels

Tinder is making a big change and people are already feeling a bit uneasy about it.

Tinder’s recent goal was to connect different groups of friends, which surely sounds amazing. After all, the older you get, the harder it is to expand your social group. The feature is called Tinder Social, and it’s currently being tested in Australia. However, as Cosmopolitan.com explains, the test group noticed a somewhat embarrassing flaw.

See, while finding a partner online is no longer considered taboo, it’s still something that not a lot of people want to openly announce. As of right now, it seems that Tinder Social connects with Facebook and immediately lets you know which Facebook friends have a Tinder profile, which is information that not everyone wants to be public.

The feature activates automatically, but Tinder has already mentioned that they did add an opt-out feature once they realized that this exposure was a huge concern. But, in Tinder’s eyes, use of their app is likely no secret anyway. “…It’s important to note Tinder’s not a secret considering 70% of users download Tinder because their friends recommend it,” they mentioned on their official blog.

The Tinder team is looking forward to launching the feature globally, with the idea that Tinder Social will help change the way we meet new people. When changes get made to our favorite social media sites and apps, typically we protest. We like the comforts of what we know, and figure there’s no reason to mess with (what we assume) is perfection. Then, with time, we realize that these changes don’t totally ruin the experience for us, and even learn to adapt. We realize that Facebook’s algorithm changes are never as scary as they initially sound. But let’s keep our fingers crossed that in this case Tinder keeps testing the feature while listening to their fanbase. If users don’t feel secure, they’ll likely be unwilling to give it a fair shot.

Advertisement