Gina Florio
November 28, 2016 3:40 pm
Shutterstock

Everyone has been loving the recent addition of Instagram Stories to the all-around-favorite social media platform. Shortly after, we were also given the chance to use live disappearing photos and videos on Instagram, which allow you to send a temporary snippet of your day to your friends via direct messages.

These features were already being used by everyone on Snapchat, so we weren’t totally surprised. But there was a difference in the two: From the very beginning, you were notified on Snapchat when someone snapped a screenshot of your picture, which helped you keep track of your creepy followers (hey, we’ve all got a couple). Well, Instagram is following in Snapchat’s footsteps (again), giving you the chance to sleep a little more soundly knowing who’s slightly obsessed with you.

Every time someone screenshots a disappearing photo or video on Instagram you’ve sent in a direct message, Instagram will now notify you. Keep in mind this doesn’t apply to your Instagram Stories, which are public for pretty much everyone to see. But any time someone tries to capture a private moment you only wanted to be made temporarily available, you’ll find out.

The same works both ways, though, so you might want to think twice before you screenshot that selfie your latest cute Tinder friend sends you. You don’t want to come off as too interested in their life.

Advertisement