Teri Wilson
November 30, 2015 2:30 pm

Things are getting poetic on Instagram, and we’re not just talking about the beauty of a perfect latte accompanied by a dog-eared copy of Pablo Neruda as seen through a Valencia filter. Our favorite social media platform has a poet’s corner.

Maybe you’ve stumbled across it under the hashtag #poetsofinstagram, #poetsofig, #instapoetry or simply #poetry. Maybe not. If you haven’t, we’ve perused the poetic accounts for you and chosen a few favorites. Some are filled with haunting photos accompanied by wistful prose. Others keep things simple and writerly with poetic verse in typewritten letters. But they all have one thing in common: beautiful words. Words that make us feel inspired. Words that make us fall in love. Words that break our hearts.

Emily Dickinson once said, “If I feel physically as if the top of my head were taken off, I know that is poetry.” Wallace Stevens said, “The poet is the priest of the invisible.” Here are the Instagram poets, those priests of the invisible, whose aching words take our heads off on the regular:

Alexa Bolton @alexabolton

 

  Rio Jones @riojones7

    Lang Leav @langleav

  Nikita Gill @nikita_gill

Tony Ciampa @emolabs

 

Adrian Hendryx @adrianhendryx

    Tyler Knott Gregson @tylerknott

Christopher Poindexter @christopherpoindexter

   

[All images via Instagram.]

You May Like