Amanda Malamut
April 08, 2017 9:47 am
Twitter/ twitter.com

If you or a child you know has food allergies, it could be difficult to find Easter candy. Luckily, the internet is a thing and can tell us what is safe to eat. The site Kids with Food Allergies keeps an up-to-date list on which sweets are safe for kids (and adults). The list is super comprehensive, but it’s important to remain vigilant. Make sure to double-check the ingredients before you chow down. Here are seven sweets perfect for any Easter basket.

1. Jelly Beans

Jelly beans are a staple to any Easter basket. Companies like the Natural Candy Store and Surf Sweets offer delicious jelly beans that are free of peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, and artificial dyes. Jelly Belly jelly beans are free of peanuts and gluten.

2. Chocolate

Rescue Chocolate

Luckily for us, chocolate comes in many formsDove Chocolate and Hershey’s offer some chocolate bars free of peanuts and tree nuts. Looking for creme eggs or chocolate bunnies? Huey’s Nut-Free Chocolate offer both that are peanut, tree nut, sesame, and coconut free. Rescue Chocolate has vegan chocolate, and 100% of net profits are donated to animal rescue organizations.

3. Marshmallows

Ethereal Confections

Whether you like marshmallows as eggs or bunnies, we got something you can eat. Sweet & Sara offer vegan chocolate marshmallow rabbits and chicks and sugar-coated marshmallow bunnies that are free of dairy, eggs, fish, shellfish, artificial colors, and artificial flavors. Ethereal Confections offer marshmallow eggs that are wheat and gluten-free.

4. Hard candies

If hard candies are your thing, St. Clairs Organics offer mint- and fruit-flavored hard candies. They are free of peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, egg, wheat, gluten, soy, fish, shellfish, corn, artificial colors, artificial flavors, and preservatives. They are also organic and GMO-free. Ice Chips offer vegan candies that are kosher, organic, and GMO-free.

5. Gummies

Surf Sweets

Can’t live without gummies? Divvies has some that are peanut, tree nuts, milk, egg, and sesame free. Surf Sweets also has some great organically sweetened gummies, some are even vegan. There are even some sour options.

6. Lollipops and Chocolate Pops

Skip's

Don’t be afraid to suck on a lollipop. Huey’s Nut-Free Chocolate offers peanut, tree nut, sesame, and coconut free options. Skips has chocolate bunnies, lambs, ducks, and lollipops that are peanut and tree nut free. Zollipops are sugar-free vegan lollipops in a variety of fruit flavors. They’re also kosher and GMO-free.

7. Chocolate Spreads

eatingEVOLVED

If spreading chocolate on everything is more your style, eatingEVOLVED has spreads that are peanuts, dairy, egg, wheat, gluten, and soy free. They come in original, mint chocolate chip, and toasted coconut — and they’re vegan!

Don’t let your (or your kid’s) allergy deter you from enjoying Easter candy. There are plenty of great and delicious options to fill any Easter basket.

Advertisement