This is how Instagram’s latest update will affect how you see “sensitive” content

If you’re scrolling through your Insta feed today, you might have noticed some blurred-out Instagram photos popping up from time to time.

As part of their new update, Instagram will now place a blur over “sensitive” photos that the company believes some users may not want to see.

"While these posts don’t violate our guidelines, someone in the community has reported them and our review team has confirmed they are sensitive.This change means you are less likely to have surprising or unwanted experiences in the app," Instagram CEO and Co-Founder Kevin Systrom announced in an Instagram post.

According to Systrom, Instagram will continue it’s regular practice of suspending or deleting accounts that violate Instagram’s terms of service. The “screen,” as Systrom called it, will only affect photos that Instagram users themselves decide they don’t want to see. Anyone who does wish to look will be able to un-blur the photo with one click.

"Our teams are focused on making Instagram a kind, welcoming place for everyone, and we’re just getting started," concluded Systrom.

Filed Under