Here are our favorite getting-ready pics from the 2017 Met Gala

Each year, the Met Gala is truly a spectacle for the biggest names in fashion, coming together to serve the most insane, over-the-top looks imaginable. We loved seeing the truly incredible things they came up with, but we’re also obsessed with all the behind-the-scenes 2017 Met Gala photos of what goes on before the celebrities hit the red carpet.

Thankfully, stars love to share getting-ready photos on social media, documenting the intense amount of effort it takes to create those fabulous looks. And we are eternally grateful. Check out some of the best social media snaps from before the big event.

Miranda Kerr did a face mask while hanging out on a towel on the floor (??).

Pre-Met multitasking with @balletbeautiful & my @koraorganics Hydrating Mask 😘

A post shared by Miranda (@mirandakerr) on

Madonna did a face mask, too!

But Kate Hudson’s was gilded, which is amazing.

Golden Slumbers #Fashion #MetBall2017 🥂

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) on

Halle Berry was blissfully zen.

Calm before the Met. #MetGala

A post shared by Halle Berry (@halleberry) on

Chrissy and John were equally chill.

Readddddy. #metball

A post shared by chrissy teigen (@chrissyteigen) on

Elizabeth Banks had an impromptu dance party.

pre #metgala dance party 🎉 and preview.

A post shared by Elizabeth Banks (@elizabethbanks) on

Kate Bosworth took her hair to new heights, and we’re impressed.

Step 2 🐣 @bridgetbragerhair #metprep

A post shared by Kate Bosworth (@katebosworth) on

Nick Jonas struck a pose.

Met Gala here I come. #metgala2017

A post shared by Nick Jonas (@nickjonas) on

So did Gisele!

Ready! 💃🏼 Pronta!

A post shared by Gisele Bündchen (@gisele) on

But not before sharing a smooch with hubby Tom Brady.

❤️

A post shared by Gisele Bündchen (@gisele) on

J.Lo served a lewk.

VALENTINO. HARRY WINSTON. #MetGala2017

A post shared by Jennifer Lopez (@jlo) on

And then headed out with her new man, Alex Rodriguez, for their red carpet debut.

Me and my macho bello...#MetGala2017 #Valentino

A post shared by Jennifer Lopez (@jlo) on

Lily Collins barely fit into her car.

En route, barely fit in the car...

A post shared by Lily Collins (@lilyjcollins) on

Selena Gomez had a laugh.

Because it should be fun and truly authentic @stuartvevers my @coach crew 💕

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

Lena Dunham rocked a natural look.

Met ready

A post shared by Lena Dunham (@lenadunham) on

And Katie Holmes gave a sneak peek of the final glam.

❤️❤️❤️ @zacposen @genevieveherr @djquintero @christopherniquet

A post shared by Katie Holmes (@katieholmes212) on

Gwyneth posed with her glam squad.

Bit of spackle and paint with my Dream Team @blakeerik #emmalovell #metball

A post shared by Gwyneth Paltrow (@gwynethpaltrow) on

Oh, how we’d love to be a fly on the wall in the hotel rooms before the Met Gala! Maybe next year…

newsletter illustration

Giggles in Your Inbox

!