This is how you can delete Facebook permanently, if you’re ready to cut the cord
The hashtag #DeleteFacebook has been trending over the past few days for some legit creepy and disturbing reasons. And although the social media platform has long been plagued by controversy, the latest Cambridge Analytica scandal has made people seriously consider getting rid of their profiles completely. But how do you even delete delete Facebook permanently?!
First, let’s ask this question: Is it even possible to delete Facebook permanently, or can you only deactivate your account? The answer is yes, you can dissolve your account forever. In fact, you can delete Facebook permanently right here — if you really want to get it done as soon as possible.
But keep in mind, this is an actual deletion. As in, it’s permanent. If you ever decide you want to go back on Facebook a month or even a year from now, you’ll have to start over completely. As Facebook notes, “You will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added.”
Just to be perfectly clear, deleting your account is not the same as deactivating it. When you deactivate your Facebook account, all your data is still there. Facebook pretty much just removes your profile from search results until you decide to reactivate it. false
Privacy and security online are extremely important. So it’s really disappointing to find out that one of the biggest social media platforms in the world is handling the safety of its users in a pretty casual way.
That’s why it’s completely understandable that users are outraged and want to delete Facebook permanently.
But before you decide to take the plunge and delete your account, just be mindful of your dating apps or other apps that require a Facebook sign-in. Also, when it comes to mobile, simply deleting the Facebook app off your phone will not do anything to your account.
Before you delete Facebook permanently, consider downloading the photos and other data you have stored there (it’s probably a lot). And a quick note: When you delete your account, it may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the process to delete everything you’ve posted.
So if you’re really, truly ready to cut the cord, here, once again, is the link to delete Facebook permanently. Once you’ve made the request and started the deletion process, that’s it.