Disney dropped the surprise Beyoncé song from The Lion King, and it’s part of a whole new album

Update, July 7th, 1:15 p.m. EDT: Beyoncé dropped “Spirit,” her original song created for the live-action The Lion King. According to Disney, the song will be part of the official soundtrack (the infamous “Track 14” most likely) and included as part of The Lion King: The Gift, a “new album of songs featuring global recording artists and steeped in the sounds of Africa, produced and curated by Beyoncé Knowles-Carter.” That new album will be released July 19th. The soundtrack dropped today, July 11th.

Listen to “Spirit” for yourself, and get ready for your midnight screening of The Lion King in the wee hours of July 19th.

When Walt Disney Records announced the tracklist for the new The Lion King movie on June 24th, fans pounced on a mystery song—Track 14, labeled “TBA.” Rumors quickly swirled that this would be a surprise Beyoncé song, as it appears on the soundtrack right after adult Nala, who the singer voices, reappears in the story. Now, director Jon Favreau has confirmed that, yes, Track 14 is a new, original Beyoncé single, and it will stay hush-hush until the soundtrack goes live on July 11th. The only thing we know for sure is that it just might be the song of the summer.

Favreau spilled some tea to Fandango on June 24th pertaining to the mystery song in the soundtrack lineup.

"We have all the original songs, but there's a song that [Beyoncé] performed and wrote in the spirit of the production along with working with Lebo M., who's part of it with Hans Zimmer," Favreau said. "They were all collaborating with her and helping to bring this new piece of music into a film where there's already a very established musical personality to the piece. So it was nice of them to have them working with her to allow the new song to feel organically a part of the new production."

If it’s anything like Donald Glover, who voices Simba, and Beyoncé’s rendition of “Can You Feel the Love Tonight,” we’re already the song’s biggest fan.

Beyoncé isn’t the only one who has written new music for the occasion. Sir Elton John, who, with Hans Zimmer, penned the original 1994 soundtrack, has lent his talents to the 2019 remake, as well. Fans will geek out when they hear his new song, “Never Too Late,” which is Track 17 on the official soundtrack. Check out the entire tracklist below:

The Lion King (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack):

  1. Lindiwe Mkhize / Lebo M: “Circle of Life / Nants’ Ingonyama”
  2. Hans Zimmer: “Life’s Not Fair”
  3. Hans Zimmer: “Rafiki’s Fireflies”
  4. JD McCrary / Shahadi Wright Joseph / John Oliver: “I Just Can’t Wait to Be King”
  5. Hans Zimmer: “Elephant Graveyard”
  6. Chiwetel Ejiofor: “Be Prepared (2019 Version)”
  7. Hans Zimmer: “Stampede”
  8. Hans Zimmer: “Scar Takes the Throne”
  9. Billy Eichner / Seth Rogen / JD McCrary / Donald Glover: “Hakuna Matata”
  10. Hans Zimmer: “Simba Is Alive!”
  11. Billy Eichner / Seth Rogen: “The Lion Sleeps Tonight”
  12. Beyoncé / Donald Glover / Billy Eichner / Seth Rogen: “Can You Feel the Love Tonight”
  13. Hans Zimmer: “Reflections of Mufasa”
  14. TBA
  15. Hans Zimmer: “Battle for Pride Rock”
  16. Hans Zimmer: “Remember”
  17. Elton John: “Never Too Late”
  18. Lebo M: “He Lives in You”
  19. Lebo M: “Mbube”

Get your ears ready, people. The Lion King (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) will be digitally available on July 11th, and the film hits theaters on July 19th.

Filed Under