Ben & Jerry’s Vegan ice cream is coming, so let’s talk about the flavor options
We’ve got some amazing news for vegans. Seriously, you should probably sit down, because this is huge. In just a few weeks, Ben & Jerry’s will roll out its very first vegan ice cream offerings. Did you hear that, Beyoncé? All of the yes!
Animal lovers are (justifiably) super pumped about this news. My dogs are in the living room right now doing the wave. (Not really. They don’t actually know how to do that. Note to self: Teach dogs to do the wave.)
In case you’re wondering what makes regular ice cream non-vegan, it’s mainly the dairy ingredients. Ben & Jerry’s new vegan flavors are made with almond milk, which makes them great for lactose intolerant individuals as well as vegans. But let’s cut to the chase, shall we? Is vegan ice cream as yummy as Ben & Jerry’s regular ice cream? According to Kirsten Schimoler, principal food scientist at the company, yes. It is. She told TIME that her focus was on making the new ice cream taste “indulgent.” She said, “That’s what Ben and Jerry’s is really known for. You want to sit on your couch with a pint of ice cream and dig out those huge pieces of cookies and chase the peanut butter swirls.”
To that end, Ben & Jerry’s will be offering four delish vegan varieties: Chocolate Fudge Brownie, Chunky Monkey, Coffee Caramel Fudge and P.B. & Cookies. While Chocolate Fudge Brownie and Chunky Monkey probably sound familiar, the Coffee Caramel Fudge and P.B. & Cookies flavors will be exclusive to the vegan product line. Which kind of gives non-vegans some incentive to give it a whirl.
Props to Ben & Jerry’s for giving us some new cruelty-free, dairy-free ice cream alternatives! We can’t wait for these new pints to hit grocery store shelves. Bring. It. On.