Young Adult Education

Darlington Family Drama: ‘Wentworth Hall' by Abby Grahame (Plus a Giveaway!)

Abby Grahame’s Wentworth Hall is described as being “spot on perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.” I’m going to be really honest with you guys and admit that I’ve never seen an episode of Downton Abbey. I know, I know, this is a tragedy of epic proportions. Listen, I’m still trying to finish Friday Night Lights, okay? Priorities! Anyway, from what I’ve gleaned by looking at cast pictures and glancing through Kate Spencer’s recaps, Downton Abbey features pretty dresses, Maggie Smith wearing big, beautiful hats, and scandal.

If it’s scandal you’re after, Downton Abbey fans, then Wentworth Hall is right up your British-period-drama-loving alley. Wentworth Hall follows the exploits of the Darlingtons, a family of decreasing fortune. While they might not have quite as much money as they used to, at least they have their good name. Although, as we find when we read on, even that’s in question.

Eldest daughter Maggie is distant and moody after returning from Paris, where she stayed for a long while with her mother and the family’s newest addition, baby James. Meanwhile, younger daughter Lila is tired of always fading into the background when Maggie’s around. The house’s young servants have their own problems as well; Michael is in love with Maggie, while Nora is trying to save up money to leave servant life behind. There’s also Therese, the new French nanny for James. Tension is already at the boiling point before rich orphans Teddy and Jessica Fitzhugh show up to stay with the Darlingtons.

Then the family discovers a satirical newspaper column poking fun at them. The Worthless Saga, which follows a family who lives in Faded Glory Manor and sounds a lot like the Darlingtons, is revealing all of their not-so-carefully concealed secrets. It’s kind of like Gossip Girl, but in a 1912 mansion instead of a private girls’ school, and with Ladies and Lords instead of Serena and Blair. The family scrambles to figure out who’s writing the column, all while trying to keep their secrets hidden.

Now on to what you’re all here for: the sweet giveaway deets. This is a really great one! 1 winner will receive their very own copy of Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame AND a $50 Sephora gift card. All you have to do to enter is leave a comment on this post! I’ll pick 1 comment randomly and announce the winner in next week’s Young Adult Education column on Saturday, May 5th. Super important: please remember to check next week’s column to see if you’re a winner! I’ll need to get your contact info so we can send you your prize!

Here are the official details from the publisher:

About the book:

And you thought there were secrets in the Abbey . . .

The Darlington family of Wentworth Hall, an elite British family, fills their time by caring for their extensive estate, and looking over their shoulders as they struggle to keep up an elaborate charade to hide their scandalous secrets of illicit romances, and bitter betrayals.

Wentworth Hall is a lush historical novel by debut author Abby Grahame, which is spot-on perfect for fans of Downton Abbey!

Pretty people, ugly secrets – keep up appearances with this Wentworth Hall prize pack!

One winner receives:

A $50 Sephora gift card and copy of Wentworth Hall!

Prizing courtesy of Simon & Schuster
Giveaway open to US residents only
ARV = $66.99

If you want to read more, check out a Wentworth Hall excerpt! Good luck, and remember to check next week’s Young Adult Education column on Saturday, May 12th to see if you’re a winner! As always, let me know if there are any books you’d like to see covered in Young Adult Education, or feel free to e-mail me at youngadulteducation@gmail.com!

Need more Giggles?
Like us on Facebook!

Want more Giggles?
Sign up for our newsletter!