Young Adult Education Darlington Family Drama: ‘Wentworth Hall' by Abby Grahame (Plus a Giveaway!) Kerry Winfrey

Abby Grahame’s Wentworth Hall is described as being “spot on perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.” I’m going to be really honest with you guys and admit that I’ve never seen an episode of Downton Abbey. I know, I know, this is a tragedy of epic proportions. Listen, I’m still trying to finish Friday Night Lights, okay? Priorities! Anyway, from what I’ve gleaned by looking at cast pictures and glancing through Kate Spencer’s recaps, Downton Abbey features pretty dresses, Maggie Smith wearing big, beautiful hats, and scandal.

If it’s scandal you’re after, Downton Abbey fans, then Wentworth Hall is right up your British-period-drama-loving alley. Wentworth Hall follows the exploits of the Darlingtons, a family of decreasing fortune. While they might not have quite as much money as they used to, at least they have their good name. Although, as we find when we read on, even that’s in question.

Eldest daughter Maggie is distant and moody after returning from Paris, where she stayed for a long while with her mother and the family’s newest addition, baby James. Meanwhile, younger daughter Lila is tired of always fading into the background when Maggie’s around. The house’s young servants have their own problems as well; Michael is in love with Maggie, while Nora is trying to save up money to leave servant life behind. There’s also Therese, the new French nanny for James. Tension is already at the boiling point before rich orphans Teddy and Jessica Fitzhugh show up to stay with the Darlingtons.

Then the family discovers a satirical newspaper column poking fun at them. The Worthless Saga, which follows a family who lives in Faded Glory Manor and sounds a lot like the Darlingtons, is revealing all of their not-so-carefully concealed secrets. It’s kind of like Gossip Girl, but in a 1912 mansion instead of a private girls’ school, and with Ladies and Lords instead of Serena and Blair. The family scrambles to figure out who’s writing the column, all while trying to keep their secrets hidden.

Now on to what you’re all here for: the sweet giveaway deets. This is a really great one! 1 winner will receive their very own copy of Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame AND a $50 Sephora gift card. All you have to do to enter is leave a comment on this post! I’ll pick 1 comment randomly and announce the winner in next week’s Young Adult Education column on Saturday, May 5th. Super important: please remember to check next week’s column to see if you’re a winner! I’ll need to get your contact info so we can send you your prize!

Here are the official details from the publisher:

About the book:

And you thought there were secrets in the Abbey . . .

The Darlington family of Wentworth Hall, an elite British family, fills their time by caring for their extensive estate, and looking over their shoulders as they struggle to keep up an elaborate charade to hide their scandalous secrets of illicit romances, and bitter betrayals.

Wentworth Hall is a lush historical novel by debut author Abby Grahame, which is spot-on perfect for fans of Downton Abbey!

Pretty people, ugly secrets – keep up appearances with this Wentworth Hall prize pack!

One winner receives:

A $50 Sephora gift card and copy of Wentworth Hall!

Prizing courtesy of Simon & Schuster
Giveaway open to US residents only
ARV = $66.99

If you want to read more, check out a Wentworth Hall excerpt! Good luck, and remember to check next week’s Young Adult Education column on Saturday, May 12th to see if you’re a winner! As always, let me know if there are any books you’d like to see covered in Young Adult Education, or feel free to e-mail me at youngadulteducation@gmail.com!

comments

Please help us maintain positive conversations by refraining from posting spam, advertisements, and links to other websites or blogs. we reserve the right to remove your comment if it does not adhere to these guidelines. thanks! post a comment.

  1. Oh, it sounds so tawdry.

  2. Oh yay! I need something to fill my Downton Abbey void :-P

  3. Totally having Downton Abbey withdrawals, so looking forward to reading this!

  4. sign me up!

  5. Heck yeah. I’m about finished with the last Sookie Stackhouse book, so this is perfect.

  6. I love Downton Abby and I am looking for a new book to read!

  7. Oh – this will absolutely fill the Downton Abbey hole. Awesome.

  8. Excited!

  9. I think this book sounds like so much fun!

  10. Woah! Very very interesting! I must get or buy a copy of Wentworth hall before classes starts! :D

  11. Oh man, if I won this prize I would sit around doing my makeup with all that Sephora stuff I bought and watching the show. I hope I win!

  12. This looks amazing!!! I love Downton Abbey AND teen lit! I’m an English teacher, so I would love to read this and be able to recommend it to my students!

  13. That book sounds interesting, Sephora is awesome, and Lila is now on my favorite names list! Thanks for the chance to win!

  14. This would be great to read while waiting for Downton Abbey to come back!!

  15. I love LOVE love Downton Abbey! This sounds like its right up the same alley!

  16. Must.Read.It.

  17. I love Downton and can’t wait to read this!

  18. This book sounds awesome! Personally, I recommend waiting until you have some free time to start Downton Abbey. It’s so addictive that I watched the first 2 seasons in 3 days.

  19. argh – I’m so behind on my pop culture in so many ways — but I have heard GREAT things about Downtown Abbey. Sign me up for the drawing. Looks like a great books. Plus, I need new mascara.

  20. This book sounds like it is screaming my name! And I really need something else to spark my interest as I haven’t really had the time to read lately. I need to find something new to OBSESS over so that I make the time to read it by…not eating and sleeping and such… That’s normal right…?

HelloGiggles Podcast