— In case you missed it

The best parts of the Billboard Music Awards are what you DIDN'T see on the red carpet

It’s always a guaranteed good time when the biggest names in music come together in one room (in Las Vegas, no less!), so it’s no secret that the 2017 Billboard Music Awards were action-packed. From a truly touching tribute to Chris Cornell who died suddenly last week to the triumphant and beautiful performance by Céline Dion of “My Heart Will Go On,” and everything in between.

The show itself was jam-packed with fun and over-the-top moments, but we’re honestly a bit more interested in all the behind-the-scenes action from the Billboard Music Awards, also known as the stuff we didn’t get to see on the red carpet or on the show.

Check out these incredible behind-the-scenes photos that the celebs shared on social media, for your viewing pleasure.

The show’s co-hosts Ludacris and Vanessa Hudgens broke it down during rehearsals.

I got mad skills. Or at least I think I do. And that's all the matters 😝😉

A post shared by Vanessa Hudgens (@vanessahudgens) on

And Ludacris got flirty with his wife in their dressing room before the show.

Infiltrator!!! 🤣🤣 #BBMAs

A post shared by @ludacris on

Vanessa had the most fun getting ready for her big hosting gig, taking a Drake dance break.

@bbmas vibes 😝 living the dream to @champagnepapi

A post shared by Vanessa Hudgens (@vanessahudgens) on

And then she tested out her mic.

Gettin readyyy to host the @bbmas 👗 by @faustopuglisi_wow

A post shared by Vanessa Hudgens (@vanessahudgens) on

She also channeled her inner Vivian Ward (and showed off her new short hair!).

"Look I got money to spend here!" #prettywoman @louisvuitton 📷 @chadwoodhair

A post shared by Vanessa Hudgens (@vanessahudgens) on

After the show, she posed with a true music icon.

Omg guys. Dreams really do come true 😍😍😍😍 @Celinedion #bbmas2017

A post shared by Vanessa Hudgens (@vanessahudgens) on

Lea Michele did the same and had a similarly emotional reaction…obvs.

Meanwhile, Céline posed with her game face on, security crew in tow.

Mid-show, Lea posed for a selfie with her pal Olivia Munn.

@oliviamunn you are my favorite 👯 @bbmas ✨

A post shared by Lea Michele (@leamichele) on

But not before she and pal Ashley Tisdale snagged a pretty sweet ride to Vegas for the show.

Las Vegas here comes trouble! @leamichele and I are ready for the #BBMAs 🔥💥

A post shared by Ashley Tisdale (@ashleytisdale) on

Drake shared a laugh with Desiigner.

I just bet only the number 13 in roulette and won 150 banjos...giggity giggity - Desiigner Voice

A post shared by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on

And took a sec to pose with Kevin Hart.

But the best photo is this one of Drake and his dad posing with Queen Céline.

My dad might have walked away from this pic and said "Da Celine Way"

A post shared by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on

The Cyrus family got photobombed by Josh Duhamel.

LolZ! Shout out to the Cyrus Family photo bombers!!!!!!!! Ha! #BBMAs #Malibu 🌊💙🌊💙🌊💙

A post shared by Miley Cyrus (@mileycyrus) on

And Miley took the sweetest backstage snap with her dad…aw.

Nicki Minaj posed with her crew, including Drake, Lil Wayne, and Mack Maine.

Family. For. Life. #MulaBayybeh!!! @liltunechi @champagnepapi @mackmaine4president

A post shared by Nicki Minaj (@nickiminaj) on

Gwen Stefani posed proudly with her man.

Just hanging out w this winner @blakeshelton @billboards2017 #topcountryartist #proud #deserving #myfavorite gx

A post shared by Gwen Stefani (@gwenstefani) on

Olivia Munn enjoyed some pre-show hotel room grub.

#BBMAs GLAM BREAK! ✨🍔🍟🌯💋

A post shared by Olivia Munn (@oliviamunn) on

Prince Jackson took a selfie before the show.

Billboards ready #BBMAs

A post shared by Prince Jackson (@princejackson) on

And Jason Derulo took the sweetest photo with Vanessa Hudgens.

Gang gang gang 😂@vanessahudgens #billboard #billboardmusicawards #BBMAs

A post shared by Jason (@jasonderulo) on

After the show was over, Ludacris hit up the after-party with Kid Rock.

Thanks for the invite, guys! Just kidding, of course, but it certainly looks like all the celebs had such a good time getting ready for the show, during the show, and at the after-parties. We’ll gladly take an invite next year!

newsletter illustration

Giggles in Your Inbox

!